Food

JAPAN-JAPAN (NAGA CITY)

This afternoon, Irene and Jael asked me to go out with them to eat at this joint called Japan-Japan at Balatas, Naga City. I said yes, as I was really tired and head was throbbing from all the work I had to do for the day. And I have learned to eat whenever I’m stressed out, either that or drink wine. The former I had to learn consciously to avoid further losing weight as I tend to lose my appetite whenever I’m burned out, while the latter was easy. Enough said.

Anyway, the place was very simple and unassuming. It’s one of those hidden gems you only know about if somebody actually tells you about it or if you live near the area. In my case, they let me in on it. And I’m glad they did. By the looks of the place being very basic and simple, it can be described as more of a joint than a resto. The food though is another story because the things we tried tasted great! And by food presentation, it was almost hard to believe that that kind of food was being served in that place. Uhm, that was meant to be a compliment. I meant like, “do not judge a book by its cover” because there’s more to it than meets the eye.DSC07879

What we ordered were Takoyaki (P45), Ramen (P100), California Maki (P130) and Yakisoba (P90). It’s a relief I still remember all the names and prices of the food as general anaesthesia messed up my short term memory.

So, the Takoyaki came out first as they already had a few cooking when we got there. Each order is 5 pieces but they got excited and ate one of each from our two orders before I was able to take a picture (lol!). It tasted delicious and creamy, the usual veggies are inside like cabbage and carrots, and the octopus was very soft. What made it a cut above the usual Takoyaki being sold in the malls was the sauce. I can’t stop raving about how good the sauce was because I usually find Takoyaki bland and I usually just eat one before I’m tired of it (umay factor), but with Japan-Japan’s sauce I can maybe eat all five.

DSC07866
Takoyaki (P45)

Then, there was the California Maki (my favorite) which was like party in my mouth! All the ingredients like the rice, crab meat, mango, apple, mayo and the dipping sauce with wasabi all together made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I popped one in and knew that was what I came for. There were eight pieces of heavenly bites on that plate.

DSC07874
California Maki (P130)

The Yakisoba was also good and they didn’t scrimp on the bonito flakes (those thin shaves of savory translucent stuff that looked like plastic). The noodles were well cooked and savory as well.

DSC07871
Yakisoba (P90)

Finally, the Ramen, which did not taste like how I expected it. I thought it would taste like Korean Ramyeon but it didn’t. I love Ramyeon and my taste buds have gotten used to eating the instant Jjampong noodles (which tasted like Ramyeon from MannA Korean Resto). But I guess the Ramen, like every authentic dish, has a different character faithful to its origin or the region where it came from. I must say, it was worth a try and a great addition to our meal.

DSC07870
Ramen (P100)

By the way, the place is not hard to find although not many people know about it. If coming from Centro of Naga, just ride a jeepney going to Magsaysay Avenue and ask the driver to pull over infront of West Park building or simply say Philhealth (located in that building). There is a line of pedicabs or padyak that you can ask to take you to Japan-Japan.

Over-all verdict:  Great value for money!

7 thoughts on “JAPAN-JAPAN (NAGA CITY)”

Leave a Reply

